

Blacks In Government ®

3005 Georgia Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20001-3807 (202) 667-3280 — FAX (202) 667-3705 www.bignet.org

March 15, 2024

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Region I Anthony Thomas Haywood Hunter

Region II Joanne M. Palmer Gwendolyn Townsend

Region III Michael Upshaw Aviann Usher

Region IV Peggy Wilson Honorable Dr. Doris Sartor

Region V Shirron A. Brown-Mills Adrianne Callahan

Region VI Honorable Katherine L. Cage, Chair Kimberly Williams

Region VII Robin McDaniel-Beck Delores Ivy

Region VIII Nichelle Rogers Julie B. Hicks

Region IX Honorable Toni Pearson, Vice Chair Derrick Felton

Region X Erin Small Marie Bell-Allen

Region XI Marion V. Allen Michael McCrimmon

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

National President Honorable Shirley A. Jones, Esq.

National Executive Vice President Dr. Lynwood Townsend

National 1st Vice President Honorable Deena M. Sheppard

National 2nd Vice President Danny Wade

National 3rd Vice President Mazella Thomas

National Secretary Dr. Wilda Parker-Collins

National Corresponding Secretary Anthony Lee, J.D.

National Treasurer Michael Smith

National Assistant Treasurer Duane Hill TO: Regional Council Presidents

Chapter Presidents

National Board of Directors National Executive Committee

FROM: Honorable Katherine Cage

Chair, National Board of Directors

Honorable Shirley A. Jones, Esq. Shirley C. Janes National President

SUBJECT: 2024 National Braxton Family Humanitarian Award

The Blacks In Government, Inc. (BIG) National Board of Directors of solicits nominations for the 2024 National Braxton Family Humanitarian Award (NBFH). This award is designed to recognize a Big member who is working in their community or region to change lives outside of their respective chapter and employment through volunteerism.

Attached for your review, please find the following NBFH Award information:

- 1. Description
- 2. Criteria
- 3. Nomination Procedures
- 4. 2024 Nomination Form

No more than **one** nomination, signed and dated by the Chapter President and Regional Officers, can be submitted per region. **Your completed nomination packages must be emailed no later than May 21, 2024.** Please note the committee is only accepting electronic submissions. Facsimile and/or postal submissions will not be accepted. Nominations are to be submitted via email to: **BIGAwards@bignet.org.**

For any questions, please contact Director Michael McCrimmon, 2024 Awards Committee Chair at (202) 427-3720 or via email at **BIGAwards@bignet.org**.

Attachment(s): Listed Above